NOVEMBER 2nd 2012

Review by Richard Steven Hensey

From Seattle WA we have a bluesy post grunge band named Walking Papers who are formed by Jeff Angell and Barrett Martin. Jeff previously sang and played guitar for the bands Post Stardom Depression and The Missionary Position, and Barrett, a drummer and multi-instrumentalist, played for Skin Yard and Screaming Trees, as well as Mad Season and Tuatara. The band has recently brought in Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses, Velvet Revolver), and newly drafted Benjamin Anderson on keyboards.

Walking Papers self-titled debut album features a stellar cast of musicians who have each added their own musical voices to the sound: Vocals and Guitar come from Jeff; Drums, Vibraphone and Backing Vocals from Barrett; Electric Bass from Duff McKagan; two blistering guitar solos from Mike McCready; power keyboards from Benjamin Anderson, and soulful horn arrangements from Dave Carter (Trumpet), Dan Spalding (Baritone Sax), and Ed Ulman (Trombone). The album was mixed by seattle producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Soundgarden, Bruce Dickinson).

What I really like is that Mike McCready lends guitar solos on the album tracks The Whole World’s Watching and I’ll Stick Around. Both McCready and McKagan aren’t officially band members, however having the two on the album will definitely help give Walking Papers some name recognition. McKagan presence was noticeable holding down a solid rhythm in tandem with Martin. Jeff Angell’s vocals has a blues growl to them which helps give the band a distinct style compared to other bluesy guitar bands. Most if not all the tracks are very solid in the song writing and the musicianship keeps the listener interested. Heavier tracks like Your Secret's Safe with Me and Two Tickets left me walking away wanting more.

It shows that Walking Papers using marimbas, vibraphone, piano, and trumpet, feel just as ease as it can with drums, bass, and heart filled guitar solos. All the songs stand on there own and if you like bluesy post rock with catchy hooks then you will like this album. They definitely have a great sound. I looking forward to seeing them live!

Walking Papers track listing

1. Already Dead
2. The Whole World’s Watching
3. Your Secret’s Safe With Me
4. Red Envelopes
5. Leave Me In The Dark
6. The Butcher
7. Two Tickets And A Room
8. I’ll Stick Around
9. Capital T
10. A Place Like This
11. Independence Day