APRIL 29th 2013

Review by YouFO

SUFFOCATION is a band that’s been around since 1989, and they rose from the depths of Long Island, New York. The newest album is called PINNACLE OF BEDLAM, with 10 crushing tracks to pay attention to, whether you prefer thrash, death, black, doom or a little speed metal, its all here and in other words - extreme.   

Artwork is a flawless portrayal of the bands concept and was created by artist Raymond Swanland (Deeds of Flesh/Psycroptic).

1. Cycles Of Suffering 3:56
2. Purgatorial Punishment 2:44
3. Eminent Wrath 3:40
4. As Grace Descends 3:04
5. Sullen Days 4:57
6. Pinnacle Of Bedlam 3:42
7. My Demise 4:03
8. Inversion 3:50
9. Rapture Of Revocation 3:49
10. Beginning Of Sorrow 4:32

Their melding of technicality, groove and merciless fervour has been imitated but never really repeated. Now with their seventh full-length album, Pinnacle of Bedlam, SUFFOCATION will brutally continue to control generations to come.

Band Members consist of:
Frank Mullen - Vocals
Terrance Hobbs - Guitars
Guy Marchais - Guitars
Derek Boyer - Bass
Dave Culross - Drums

The CD was produced by the band and tracked at Full Force Studios in New York by long time collaborator Joe Cincotta. The mixing and mastering was handled this time around by world renowned producer/engineer Zeuss (Hatebreed, Arsis, Suicide Silence). This is the first album to be done without drummer Mike Smith, but features the return of Dave Culross on the kit.

You cant deny the talent these guys possess, the first week after the release had them selling 3,213 copies in the USA. But it’s a more focused album, its technical, with feverish guitar riffs, some crazy ass drum blasts, and even some bass can be heard. The vocals have the growl and grunts to capture the attention of those who listen. All in all , this 40 minute CD is a full uncompromising album. Go find out for yourself, you’ll agree.