AUGUST 11th 2012

Review by: Metal Mom

I was looking forward to reviewing this album, another new band for myself, but, not a fan of doom, so I became a bit leery of what to expect. “Doom” according to wiki is an extreme form of heavy metal that uses slower tempos, low tuned guitars with a heavier sound than other metal genres. Giving you a sense of despair, dread and impending DOOM, hence the name. And of course they are also classified as death, another form of heavy metal with heavily distorted guitars, tremolo picking, deep growls with vocals, drumming is more of the blast beats. Well don’t know if I would call them all that, but definitely a sense of Melodic in there for sure, the only death I heard really was the brutal vocals, which surprising fit very well with their music which for me was more or less, laid back, soothing and by no means did I feel any impending doom set in. I guess I have to say too there was some doom, in the sense of slower tempos. Yes, their music on this CD, called “Emerald Forest and the Blackbird” was slow for a metal band, but it also showed their talent in putting something like this all together and having it turn out so well.

I do like that the band members had the talent to put these 10 tracks of epic metal together and give us something that is a little different. Honestly I didn’t think I would listen to all of the songs, being that it was a little more slower than what I usually listen to, but after giving it a try, I would definitely recommend this to people who aren’t afraid to listen to something a little different. Before I even realized it, I had heard it all. And you know doing a review, you really should listen to it more than once and with an open mind. So I did, and I found the guitar riffs were first rate, the bass was there, and not thundering through your body to be heard, the drums melted into their blasts, and the vocals added an excellent toping to the album. Truly an enjoyable listen.

Lets give credit where credit is due, to the members of the band, who are - Mikko Kotamäki - vocals, Juha Raivio - guitars, Markus Jämsen - guitars, Matti Honkonen - bass and Kai Hahto on the drums, who come from the darkest corners of Finland to deliver an amazing album.

For those of you who would like to know the tracks, here they are:

1. Emerald Forest and the Blackbird
2. This Cut is the Deepest
3. Hate, Lead the Way
4. Cathedral Walls (featuring Anette Olzon)
5. Hearts Wide Shut
6. Silent Towers
7. Labyrinth of London - Horror Part V
8. Of Death and Corruption
9. April 14th
10. Night Will Forgive Us

June 12 of this year they announced the album will be released in the USA on September 4th by Spinefarm USA.

Also that SWALLOW THE SUN will be going on tour from September through November of 2012 on the Teutonic Terror Attack North American tour with legendary KREATOR and ACCEPT.

In the meantime though, it would be a great addition to your CD collection, the 5th album from Swallow the Sun “Emerald Forest and the Blackbird”. Do yourself a favour and go out and purchase this ASAP.