AUGUST 18th 2013

Review by Metal Mom

Genre: Heavy/alternative/industrial metal, horror punk

Members -
Rob Zombie - vocals
John 5 - guitar / backing vocals
Piggy D - bass / backing vocals
Ginger Fish - drums

Bob Marlette: keyboards / programming
Josh Freese - additional drums
Guest - Ava Lucie Skurkis - american girl voice
Zeuss - programming
Chris Marlette - programming

Sorry everyone else at Metaltitans that do the cd reviews, Zombie is mine. This is a must do for me, always have appreciated the sound and the musicianship that comes from this band. Don’t worry I will still critique it, it’s what I do, even when I am listening to my favourite bands. So let’s get down to it shall we.

Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor is the 5th solo studio album from the multi talented Rob Zombie. February 22 saw the track listing confirmed on his facebook page. Their first single “Dead City Radio and the New Gods of Supertown” was released Apr. 8th. Also for the first time is Ginger Fish playing drums. Something else that should be noted is Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor sold 34,000 copies in the U.S.A. in it’s first week of release, landing at # 7 on Billboard 200 Charts. Impressive I say.

I tried writing this review at the same time as listening to the album, doesn’t work. I forget about the writing process, and just concentrate on listening to the songs. Can’t help it, it‘s what happens when I enjoy. Finally had to shut off the CD to do this review.

When I first got the CD, I was looking at the names on it, have to say there are a couple of strange ones. Don’t let that fool you, in fact, it made me want to listen to those first, to see what they had to offer. Wasn’t let down at all. No matter what song, each has something that pulls you to it, I listen to it all the time, and it’s a great album to plug into the disc player in your car when travelling. Makes the trip more interesting. There isn’t any filler on this album that I could find, yes I tried to listen and find a song I didn’t like, oh wait, there was one I wasn’t too fussy about, called “Theme For The Rat Vendor”, it’s instrumental, it is different, but it didn’t really fit into the album. Mind you, it is so different, that when I hear it, I kind of smile and it’s over. So no problem, it’s over quickly. Like ripping off a band aid. Reminds me of the old hippy days, sitting around with black lights and the smell of weed in the air. Then suddenly you are right back into the force of Zombie, where he has created something different again for you to enjoy.  You have 12 tracks to enjoy of this album, and just about 40 minutes worth of tapping your foot, or your hands on the wheel, or nodding your head. You are going to enjoy this album, make no mistake.

Track Listing -
 1. Teenage Nosferatu Pussy
 2. Dead City Radio And The New Gods Of Supertown - (Zombie, John 5, Bob Marlette)
 3. Revelation Revolution
 4. Theme For The Rat Vendor
 5. Ging Gang Gong De Do Gong De Laga Raga
 6. Rock And Roll (In A Black Hole) - (Zombie, John 5, Marlette)
 7. Behold, The Pretty Filthy Creatures!
 8. White Trash Freaks
 9. We're An American Band - (Don Brewer)
10. Lucifer Rising - (Zombie, John 5, Piggy D)
11. The Girl Who Loved The Monsters
12. Trade In Your Guns For A Coffin
All songs written and composed by Rob Zombie and John 5, except where noted.

The one thing I noticed is that when you look at the genre for Zombie, the one thing missing is ROCK, this is pure rock and roll, and done with some interesting flares added, making it Rob Zombie style. There is nothing better than knowing he is putting out a new CD, and Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor is without a doubt, one that fans will be enjoying for a long time. But Zombie is not the only member to make this album what it is, John 5 plays some exceptional guitar, maybe not as much of those holy crap listen to that, but still some strong solos that burst forth, with some phenomenal shredding. Piggy D plays an all powerful bass, might be hard to hear, but you know its what thunders in your chest. Ginger Fish, (ever wonder where he got his name, its by combining an iconic beauty with a serial killer, Ginger Rogers and Albert Fish, hence Ginger Fish). He does a fine job of executing the blasting of those drums making the songs have some roots. And let’s not forget Zombie himself, he has a strong gravely type voice, that just pulls it all together, making this album what I call one of their best. What’s also enjoyable is the fact that the words are easy to learn, making it that much more fun to sing along (maybe not to your neighbours if you can’t sing). This album has the whole package, you can’t go wrong when you buy this. These four musicians seem to know exactly how to create and give the fans something worth having, I never doubted that for a minute. It’s like the standard saying “Sex, Drugs, and Rock n Roll”, only with Zombie, take out the drugs, and add in monsters.

There isn’t much else I can say, this is an all around excellent album, one that you instantly enjoy from start to finish. This is the kind of album I enjoy reviewing. It’s also one that I bought, so please, go buy Rob Zombie’s “Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor”. You will see what I mean. Rock on.