JUNE 2nd 2014

Review by Metal Mom

Hi Fi Sci Fi Electro Metal Robot Rockers, that pretty much defines POWERMAN 5000. If you are a fan, then you have been waiting for their latest studio album “Builders of the Future”, it’s out now for everyone’s enjoyment.   I have to say that I don’t really care what category you put these guys in, because damn they are good. It’s really that simple. Their songs have even been used in media, including television film soundtracks, and video games.  

POWERMAN 5000 have been through many ups and downs along the way, and Spider One, is the only original member left. I for one thought there might be some major changes to hear in this album, yes there are a few, but it’s still that enthusiastic, feel good kind of music. Obviously Spider One and his new power mates know how to excel and give us exactly what we want. Because I am an avid fan of Powerman 5000, I thought I better critique this a little harder. Oh good luck, I think I listened to the whole album about 5 times, before sitting down and trying to nail this.

In case you don’t know who is in this lineup, let me tell you. Spider One - Vocals,
Richard Jazmin - Guitar, Nick Quijano - Guitar, Gustavo Aued - Bass and Dj Rattan on the drums.  They really seem more empowered than previous albums. They are now back after a 5 year absence, and they are more or less continuing from “Somewhere On The Other Side of Nowhere”. And why not, when you have created a niche for yourself, and you succeed at it, it only makes sense to continue, giving the fans what they want. Some say they are a bit of a geek band, well who cares, they have a fan base of devoted followers that are hooked on their science fiction, comic book, horror, fantasy style element, it makes no difference to us what you call them.  

 1. Invade, Destroy, Repeat
 2. We Want It All
 3. How To Be A Human
 4. You’re Gonna Love It, If You Like It Or Not
 5. Builders Of The Future
 6. I Want To Kill You
 7. Modern World
 8. Live It Up Before You’re Dead
 9. I Can’t F-cking Hear You
10. Evil World

Let me tell you what I enjoyed throughout these 10 tracks, first there was a song that I found too slow for my liking from Powerman 5000, but I grew to appreciate it the more I listened to it. There are some pretty powerful riffs, and brilliant drumming, with some pretty amazing vocals.  I did have many a favourite on this album, but I feel I don’t want to tell you, because then fans tend to head right to those songs, I want you to listen to each and every one of them, and not just once, don’t flip through the songs. I have to tell you, while listening, I was smiling, tapping the desk, feet tapping, and banging my head and just plain enjoying it all. What’s not to like here, when you feel so good after giving a CD a listen.

Spider said "You have to live and breathe it. If you don't believe in it, it's easy for people to smell a rat. We can sit around and cry all day long about how the music business isn't what it used to be, but none of that really matters. What matters is to have a blast being in a band." And let me tell you, you can just tell after listening to “Builders of the Future” that they enjoy, and are so enthusiastic about what they do, that it can’t help but rub off on you.

This is POWERMAN 5000, and this is what they do best. They know exactly what they are doing, and they have nailed it to perfection. Just like the song says “ You’re Gonna Love It, If You Like It Or Not”