MAY 19th 2012

Review by Metal Mom

Release date - May 8 (US) May 14 (World)
Genre - Hard Alternative (although I say modern rock more or less)

Who is in this band, out of Sin City? (Las Vegas), let me tell you -

Adrian Patrick - Lead Vocals
Ryan Patrick - Guitar/Vocals
Flavio Ivan- Bass/Vocals
Corky Gainsford- Drums/Vocals
Vassilios Metropoulos - Guitar/Vocals

Tragedies and loss are part of their life, and the music is one of the ways they maintain a positive outlook, despite the setbacks, in other words there isn’t anything that will hold them back. And nothing is more evident than that then their release of “True Love Never Dies”.

What brought this band to national spotlight, their song “Soldiers”. OTHEWISE was hand picked to play alongside Avenged Sevenfold and Five Finger Death Punch on mainstage at the inaugural 48 Hours Festival Oct/2011.

December of 2011 they signed with Century Media Records, and started the recording of their debut album. They worked with producer Jay Baumgardner (Godsmack, Papa Roach, Seether, Sevendust, POD) at NRG Studios in January, February saw OTHERWISE take on their first national tour as a band. Some were so impressed, the song “Soldiers” was immediately added into rotation on Sirius XM’s Octane channel. Pretty impressive I would say.

The 11-track debut is a testament to their perseverance in the face of adversity, and a living, breathing tribute to their cousin, who died shortly before they signed with Century Media. “Our cousin had those words tattooed on his neck, so now we’re holding onto that idea, and the belief that true love never dies.”

The tracks to "True Love Never Dies" is:

1. I
2. Die For You
3. Lighthouse
4. Scream Now
5. Don’t Be Afraid
6. Vegas Girl
7. II
8. Silence Reigns
9. I Don’t Apologize (1000 pictures)
10. Crimson
11. Full Circle
12. Soldiers
13. III
14. Heaven

I didn’t know what to expect when I was handed this to review, I as you know, I do Metal mostly. And OTHERWISE is more of a modern rock to my ears. But don’t get me wrong, they have done a great job of their style, clear clean vocals, guitar riffs that are definitely rocking , and drums that fill it in to make their style complete . There are many power ballads, but its their style, keep an open mind and you will enjoy what they have accomplished in their debut album. It did have a hint of what sounded like Nickelback, but for many this is exactly what they will enjoy, and take the band to the top of Mt. Everest. It was catchy, before I knew it the sound had me tapping my foot, and not waiting for it to be over with. I even listened to each and every track more than twice. So in other words, they have mastered their music, its solid. So my advice “Don’t Be Afraid” and go out and give this CD a listen. If you are a true blue Metalhead, this wont be for you.