JUNE 6th 2013

Review by Metal Mom

Band Members -
Ross Dolan - bass / vocals
Robert Vigna - guitars
Bill Taylor - guitars
Steve Shalaty - drums

This is all about IMMOLATION’s 9th Studio album that was released May 14 digitally and physically by Nuclear Blast. The album was recorded at Sound Studio in Millbrook, NYC with long time producer Paul Orofino. The mixing and mastering was done again by Zack Ohren (All Shall Perish, Decrepit Birth, Suffocation). The talent behind the cover artwork was done by Pär Olofsson (Immortal, Abysmal Dawn, The Faceless).

For the past 25 years we have witnessed the extreme music scene by IMMOLATION, who has delivered some unique artistic dark underground death metal. They forever push the limits and are an energetic force who continuously pave their way down a path of  determined devastation. With each album they step it up defining their style and sound, creating a dark and bold death metal sound. There have many classic albums, including the most recent Unholy Cult as a critically successful release, but I would like to say that “Kingdom of Conspiracy” has become their newest successful accomplishment.

Guitarist Robert Vigna and vocalist/bassist Ross Dolan have been the only constant members throughout the band's history. But with Bill Taylor on guitar and Steve Shalaty blasting drums, this is a punishing lineup, one to be taken seriously. The guitar work from the two guitarist are almost a combat between the two, duelling almost, catching your attention with their perfection. And lets not forget the solos, leaving you in awe. Vocals from Ross are always what makes you appreciate the death metal vocals, fitting in with absolute execution. The drums, well another reason that this is a masterpiece, blasting their way into your soul.

Track Listing -
01. Echoes Of Despair
02. Keep The Silence
03. Kingdom Of Conspiracy
04. Serving Divinity
05. The Great Sleep
06. Indoctrinate
07. A Spectacle of Lies
08. God Complex
09. Bound To Order
10. All That Awaits

“Kingdom of Conspiracy” is a true example of what makes IMMOLATION who they are, there is intense speed and anguished orchestrations that’s going to get a hold of you and not let go. It’s addictive, forceful, and dark, it’s evidence of their talent and style. After listening to all 10 tracks, it’s not going to leave you thinking, well they should have done this or done that, you will just turn around and play it again, and again, a true testament of their extreme prowess, knowing full well that you have just listened to some dominating death/black/extreme metal music. Some CD’s can have you skipping tracks, but IMMOLATION’s “Kingdom of Conspiracy” leaves you satiated, fulfilled, content, happy, in other words, and you are going to realize that you have an excellent choice in your hands.