SEPTEMBER 29th 2012
Review by: Metal Mom

Eremita is the anticipated 4th album from Norwegian vocalist/guitarist IHSAHN. The album was recorded/produced at Telemark’s Ivory Shoulder Studios, additional tracking was completed at Notodden’s Juke Joint Studio and Seattle’s Envisage Audio. The Cd was mixed by Jens Bogren (Opeth) at Fascination Street Studio in Orebo, Sweden. The album also features performances from drummer Tobias Ornes Andersen (Leprous), saxophonist Jorgen Munkeby (Shining-Norway), guitarist Jeff Loomis (ex Nevermore), and vocalist Devin Townsend, Einar Solberg (Leprous), and Heidi S. Tveitan (Star of Ash). Award winning spanish designer Ritxi Ostariz created the albums packaging. You cant miss with this all happening on the album.

IHSAHN’S growing worldwide audience can look forward to 9 new songs. Eremita is the longest and most bold work. Very inspired work, with dynamics and variety. Excellent guitar work and the keyboard skills are obvious. The name “Eremita”, is latin for hermit. His work is progressive and still a classic Norwegian black metal. His stupendous and creative talent shines through. Although he has had a span of two decades, this is the first I have heard of him. I didn’t put two and two together to realize that he was at the age of 13 a member of a band that would define and refine metal - EMPEROR. I am not one to pay attention to who was in what band before. But the name Emperor I knew. But it doesn’t reflect on this album, this work is all IHSAHN. And there is plenty of talent to be heard. The music aspect of this album was really satisfying, the vocals at first I wasn’t sure of, but after a few listens, they fit in so well. I really enjoyed this album. Definitely a must listen. And for those of you who enjoyed, then it’s a must to have in your collection.

9 tracks on Eremita:

1. Arrival
2. The Paranoid
3. Introspection
4. The Eagle and the Snake
5. Catharsis
6. Something Out There
7. Grief
8. The Grave
9. Departure.