MAY 15th 2012

Review by: Metal Mom

In the year 2012 a new chapter emerges revolving around ENGEL and their saga with their 3rd achievement and their most bold new offering to date - “BLOOD OF SAINTS”. Again Tue Madsen (The Haunted, Hatesphere, Dark Tranquility) known as a legendary producer has been called in to develop the sound and style that defines ENGEL. Also along on this journey is the famed Gothenburg studio engineer Arnold Lindberg from Sound Industries to ensure the latest and greatest from ENGEL will become one of the most anticipated releases of 2012.

2011 was a successful year for ENGEL, with successful tours spanning from the heart of Europe to the far shores of the Far East, alongside such artists as Pain and Arch Enemy. With a return trip in April 2012 with Arch Enemy to Japan to begin a new exciting era in the bands career. And so , now is the time to unleash the true potential of this Swedish group with ‘BLOOD OF SAINTS’, and trust me, ENGEL will not disappoint with their 3rd masterpiece. From this band you can expect only the BEST for things in the future….

This CD was recorded at Antfarm Studios in Aabyhoj Denmark. And their first video (Question Your Place) was done Feb.10 at Sticky Fingers in Gothenburg.

Here are the 11 masterful tracks you can find on this album:

1. Engel Question your place
2. Frontline
3. Feel afraid
4. Numb
5. Cashking
6. One good thing
7. Blood of saints
8. Down to Nothing
9. Drama Queen
10. In Darkness
11. Journeys End

The talented musicians that make up Engel are:

Niclas Engelin – guitars
Marcus Sunesson – guitars
Magnus Klavborn – vocals
Steve Drennan – bass
Jimmy Olausson – drum

Where do I start. This CD was a real pleasure. If you have heard of ENGEL, then I can say this is a mixture between Threnody (2010) and Absolute Design (2007). If you haven’t heard of them, then you need to read this and then discover what they sound like. There is no doubting the time and effort that has gone into the creating of this album, and its going to prove to be the right path for them.

The vocals are varied, with melodic rhythms, very distinct, also something that makes them stand out above the rest is the clear clean vocals, which makes it a pleasure to learn the words and sing right along. Guitars are heavy, brutal riffs and tones, but melodic at the same time. Also what makes this band stand out, is the keyboards, something you don’t often hear in a metal band. The drums, make no mistake, they are heavy, but they are masterfully done, so that each and all instruments combine to compliment each other. There is no way you can sit and listen, and not tap your fingers on the table, or tap your foot along to the beat, and you definitely are going to be moving your head around, what more can you ask for. This album has a good balance between skill, brutality, classic and new school, which makes ENGEL appeal to a wider fan base. ENGEL has mastered their sound, and it shows. I have only just become a fan of ENGEL when I heard Threnody, and it looks like there is no turning back, I am hooked . So I would like to recommend you go out and order this today, you are going to enjoy this ‘BLOOD OF SAINTS’ immensely and wont be able to stop listening . What are you waiting for, go get it. ITS FANTASTIC.