APRIL 8th 2012

Review by - Metal Mom

Genre - Folk Metal

Band Members -

Hometown - Switzerland

Record Label - Nuclear Blast Records

Merlin (Drums)
Anna (Hurdygurdy, Vocals)
Ivo (Guitar)
Chrigel (Vocals, Mandola, etc.)
Kay (Bass, Vocals)
Meri (Fiddle, Vocals)
Siméon (Guitar, Vocals)
Päde (Whistles, Vocals)

ELUVEITIE has come a long way since their beginnings in 2002. You often wonder why a band would have so many members, but as you give this a listen you soon understand, they all bring their unique sound to the band. This has made Elueveitie a band that stands out above the other in their genre. Their music amalgamates traditional celtic folk melodies with gothenburg styled melodic death metal. And what captures you is the use of the traditional folk instruments in their music, like the fiddles, tin whistles, flutes, bag pipes, violin, dulcimer, and hurdy gurdies. Another interesting aspect is that fact that once in awhile they sing in their own language. Their lyrics are based on texts written in Gaulish such as prayers, invocations of the gods and other spirits. Helvetios is Eluveities second concept album, which focuses on the Gallic Wars from the outlook of the ancient Helvetii. Anna has been more involved in the song writing process on this album and has also been given more vocal parts.

The newest release from ELUVEITIE, which is their 5th full length is titled “ Helvetios, with 18 tracks to be heard.

1. Prologue
2. Helvetios
3. Luxtos
4. Home
5. Santonian Shores
6. Scorched Earth
7. Meet The Enemy
8. Neverland
9. A Rose For Epona
10. Havoc
11. The Uprising
12. Hope
13. The Siege
14. Alesia
15. Tullianum
16. Uxellodunon
17. Epilogue
18. A Rose For Epona (acoustic version) (digi bonus)

Eluveitie early on developed their own way of creating their style. What I enjoy the most, is that it’s all upbeat, you will find you are always tapping something to their music. I think I have to say that they have created a completely new style of folk metal. Which I can appreciate. Its great reviewing a Cd that has such a variety in sounds. You will find that everything that is played on this album has been thought about and created for your pleasure. Each and every instrument has brought something to the sound of Helvetios, and what a great combination - metal and folk, who would have thought it would make for a great listen. I could go on and on about how terrific this album is, but please, do yourself a favour, get out and grab yourself a copy and enjoy. I did.