SEPTEMBER 1st 2012

Review by: Metal Mom

For me, this was probably one of the hardest ever CD’s to review, and believe me, I have done plenty. Why? Well because it is so damned good. When I do a review, I like to have it playing in the background as I write it, well I couldn’t do that this time around. What happened is, I ended up listening and thoroughly enjoying these exceptional pieces, and forget all about what I was doing, well suppose to be doing, reviewing. It just goes to show you that these 2 CD’s can make you forget everything, so I had to shut if off so I could do this review, but make no mistake, once I have completed this task, I am going to be right back to listening again. And so should you.

I am sure that everyone knows who the queen of Metal is, that’s right, her name is Doro Pesch, she comes from Germany, and has worked hard to get where she is. The genre they have labelled her as is, power metal, heavy metal, and hard rock. I don’t care what you call it, pop, rock , metal, its so good and she has what it takes to be successful.

Under My Skin is a masterpiece of songs that illustrates Doro’s talent, there are 32 songs, 3 videos, 8 of the songs with The Classic Night Orchestra, B sides, classic cuts, revised versions, and some hand written notes from Doro herself. A taste encompassing her whole career, it’s a metal masterpiece. There are timeless songs such as Warrior Soul, My Majesty, there is also an acoustic version of Rare Diamond, and lets not forget something really out of the ordinary with a slower melodic rendition of Judas Priests Breaking the Law. I was a little hesitant when I first saw JP Breaking the Law on here, but again, it was so well executed, she put her own flair to this song and made it her own. Every song on these 2 CD’s are just a true pleasure to listen to over and over again, and its one that encompasses 27 years of renowned DORO history. After listening to this, there is no disputing her talent, she gives it her all and it shows. One of the songs on here gave me the chills though, The Night of the Warlock, with the haunting male vocal starting the song off, I was looking over my shoulders. I guess what I like the best on here too is the fact that out of all these songs, there isn’t one I would skip over, I listened to each and every song, and more than once. There would be no kicking out the disc to find something else to listen too. However it was, that she chose this style as her way to sing, or the music she chose to go along with it, its talent pure and simple. I am really honoured to be given the chance to review these 2 CD’s and to have the pleasure of enjoying it to the max. I really believe that new and old fans alike will enjoy this.

CD 1

01. All We Are (Version 2007)
02. You're My Family
03. I Rule The Ruins
04. Celebrate
05. The Night Of The Warlock
06. Strangers Yesterday
07. Walking With The Angels
08. Metal Tango
09. Thunderspell
10. Herzblut
11. Warrior Soul
12. My Majesty
13. Für Immer
14. Love Me In Black
15. Always Live To Win
16. Running From The Devil
17. Above The Ashes
18. Let Love Rain On Me 

CD 2

01. Celebrate (Full Metal Female Version)
02. Rescue Me
03. Rare Diamond (Acoustic Version)
04. Angel In The Dark
05. 1999
06. In Liebe Und Freundschaft
07. I Lay My Head Upon My Sword
08. Tausend Mal gelebt
09. Wildfire
10. Breaking The Law
11. She's Like Thunder (Version 2005)
12. The Queen
13. You Won My Love
14. Lonely Wolf