JUNE 29th 2014

Review by Metal Mom

Andrew Neufeld aka GOOSE - vocals
Jeremy Hiebert - guitars, backing vocals
Kyle Profeta - drums
Stu Ross aka TOAD - guitar

COMEBACK KID is Canadian and they are a Hardcore/Punk band, they are signed with Victory Records. March 4th saw their 5th studio album released, also the 3rd with vocalist Goose.  Okay, in all fairness, this reviewer has not heard of this band before, but I am always open to a new listening experience.

First a little history on the band. Their name comes from a headline in a newspaper about hockey player, Mario Lemieux coming back to the NHL, an excellent choice for names, considering everything that Mario went through and persevered. The originally formed back in 2000 by members of a Winnipeg underground music scene. Since their debut album in 2003, COMEBACK KID has gotten a name for itself in the hardcore community, and they have been building on that ever since. (I do my homework).  They continue to incorporate new elements above and beyond the norm of modern hardcore. In 2007 guitarist Neufeld found himself taking over the vocals.

Track listing -
 1. Die Knowing
 2. Lower The Line
 3. Wasted Arrows
 4. Losing Sleep (featuring Pauly Correia)
 5. Should Know Better
 6. I Depend, I Control
 7. Somewhere In This Miserable…
 8. Beyond
 9. Unconditional
10. Didn't Even Mind
11. Full Swing (featuring Scott Wade)
12. Sink In

Their newest album, Die Knowing, is full of frantic energy, I am not a big fan of hardcore punk, but they seemed to have nailed the right combination of vocals/instruments to give it a listen. If you want fast, heavy and oh lets say abrasive, then this is it.  I am not an expert on the hardcore / punk scene, but I can tell you that you might want to catch them on tour next time they are on the road.