FEBRUARY 22nd 2012

Review By: Metal Mom

CANNIBAL CORPSE is about to unleash their 12th album to devour your soul on March 13th by Metal Blade.

In their 20 plus years of creating their own death metal sound, I am sure that I don’t need to introduce any of them to you. But just in case, there are some out there that are not aware of who the infamous CANNIBAL CORPSE consists of, here you go, these are the 5 cannibalistic creators:

Alex Webster (bass)
Paul Mazurkiewicz (drums)
Rob Barrett (guitar)
George “CORPSEGRINDER” Fisher (vocals)
Pat O’Brien (guitar)

Torture is the name of their 12th release, its also the 3rd time working with Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal).
The album was produced at Sonic Ranch Studios in Texas, and the artwork was done by Vincent Locke. There are 12 tracks on this album to enjoy:


1. Demented Aggression
2. Sarcophagic Frenzy
3. Scourge of Iron
4. Encased in Concrete
5. As Deep As the Knife Will Go
6. Intestinal Crank
7. Followed Home Then Killed
8. The Strangulation Chair
9. Caged…Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through

You all know what to expect from Cannibal Corpse, the brutal, aggressive and in your face sound, with some overtly violent-themed songs. You will not be disappointed here. There is no mistaking the insanely fast blast beats, some major heavy riffs from guitars, and low frequency of the bass, that thunders through your veins, and lets not forget the renowned vocals of Corpsegrinder that is filling your ears with guttural roars, death growls and screams, like listening to your own personal horror story. This album continues to confirm that Cannibal is a master at their extreme form of over-the-top entertainment. Their sound at times taking a slower pace, but then right back into the mix of hardcore death metal, and all flawlessly done. Yes, there might be a few small changes to their sound, but nothing drastic, but inconspicuous ones, never mistaking at any time who it is you are listening to. This is true Cannibal through and through, and for me, I personally think this is their best accomplishment by far.

I was a little hesitant to review this CD as I thought I had outgrown Cannibals sound, WRONG, since getting it to review, I haven’t stopped listening. I am sure you are going to find the same thing. On March 12th , write it down, go out and grab yourself the latest and greatest CANNIBAL CORPSE CD - TORTURE. Head band, throw your horns in the air, and don’t miss them when they come around on tour. Nothing better than listening to the CD than actually witnessing the sound of what we all know as CANNIBAL CORPSE.