JANUARY 4th, 2014
Review by Metal Mom

Frontiers Records
Release: 6 December 2013


 1. Heaven on Earth
 2. Didn't Mean to Fall in Love
 3. Last Day of School
 4. Sail Away
 5. Life, Love & Hope
 6. If You Were in Love
 7. Someday
 8. Love Got Away
 9. Someone (2.0)
10. You Gave Up on Love (2.0)
11. The Way You Look Tonight.
Produced, Arranged, and Engineered by Tom Scholz

Boston's 6th album was released on December 6, 2013, by Frontiers Records, their first studio album in eleven years, and the first Boston album to be released following the death of lead vocalist Brad Delp. Life, Love & Hope includes lead vocals from Brad Delp, Tommy DeCarlo, Kimberley Dahme, David Victor, and Tom Scholz. Work on the album started in 2003. Tom Scholz considered by many to be an incredibly gifted guitarist, keyboardist and songwriter  produced Life, Love & Hope and wrote all the tracks. Kimberley Dahme makes a vocal performance on several songs as well, as does the late Brad Delp (who performs on the new song “Sail Away” as well as rearranged songs from “Corporate America”). This album also features new vocalists such as David Victor, Louis St. August, Tommy DeCarlo, and Jude Nejmanowski. It is also the first Boston album to feature Tom Scholz on a lead vocals for “Love Got Away”.  

Boston is considered by most to be hard rock, while combining elements of progressive rock into their music. In fact their self titled album holds the record for being the highest selling debut album in history. Also know to be a staple of US classic rock radio play lists.

The new songs bring an uplifting message delivered around the classic guitar and vocal harmonies of Boston’s classic sound, which are a true trademark of the band. Vocalists on the album include Brad Delp, Kimberley Dahme, David Victor, Tommy DeCarlo and Tom Scholz himself.

Now I grew up with Boston, as many did, so I was thrilled to get the opportunity to review this new CD of theirs.  Did I enjoy it, yes and no, the music was wonderful, close your eyes, and it’s like stepping back in time, great sound. But the vocals, well didn’t really do the job for me. I know, it’s not the original singer, but you know in the back of your mind what Boston should sound like. Maybe I could get past that, not sure, maybe a lot of Boston fans can. Musically they nailed it. Vocals, were not bad, just not what I was waiting for. So I am going to say, it was classic Boston, and a good listen, and for all Boston fans I would just like to say, give it a chance, things change, and with that said, guess I should take my own advice.